Go to main content

Conference for Social and Economic Data (KSWD)

The Conference on Social and Economic Data (KSWD) is the German forum for interdisciplinary exchange on the topic of research data and takes place every three years.

About the KSWD

Societal and social developments can only be understood and explained with the help of good and up-to-date data. Therefore, the availability of data is a crucial prerequisite to be able to examine social and economic processes and to test the effectiveness of political measures. Only sufficient and reliable data allow for evidence-based policy decisions.

The conference is aimed at all those in science, politics and administration who are interested in research data: Data producers, research-promoting institutions and young scientists as well as representatives of research infrastructures and the institutions that network in the RatSWD. Important multipliers from the field of research data management are also specifically addressed. The dialogue with politics is prominently reflected in the programme, for example in a parliamentary evening. The aim of the KSWD is to initiate an open multidisciplinary exchange and to promote the establishment and further development of the research data infrastructure for the social, behavioural and economic sciences.

At the KSWD, the election results for the next appointment period of the German Data Forum are traditionally announced. In 2023, the 8th appointment period of the German Data Forum will begin. Thus, the conference is the starting point for the work of the forum in the coming years. In 2023, it is also the Mid-Term Conference of the Consortium for the Social, Behavioural, Educational and Economic Sciences (KonsortSWD).

Next conference

 

Past conferences

Zum Hauptinhalt

Konferenz für Sozial- und Wirtschaftsdaten (KSWD)

Die KSWD ist das deutsche Forum für einen interdisziplinären Austausch zum Thema Forschungsdaten und findet alle drei Jahre statt.

Über die KSWD

Gesellschaftliche und soziale Entwicklungen können nur unter Zuhilfenahme guter und aktueller Daten verstanden und erklärt werden. Daher ist die Verfügbarkeit von Daten eine entscheidende Voraussetzung, um soziale und wirtschaftliche Prozesse untersuchen und die Wirksamkeit politischer Maßnahmen prüfen zu können. Nur eine hinreichende und sichere Datenlage erlaubt evidenzbasierte politische Entscheidungen.

Die Konferenz richtet sich an alle, die sich in Wissenschaft, Politik und Verwaltung für Forschungsdaten interessieren: Datenproduzierende, forschungsfördernde Institutionen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler:innen sowie Vertreter:innen der Forschungsinfrastrukturen und der Einrichtungen, die sich im RatSWD vernetzen. Auch wichtige Multiplikator:innen aus dem Bereich Forschungsdatenmanagement werden gezielt angesprochen. Ziel ist es, mit der KSWD einen offenen multidisziplinären Austausch zu initiieren und Aufbau und Weiterentwicklung der Forschungsdateninfrastruktur für die Sozial-, Verhaltens- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften zu fördern.

Auf der KSWD erfolgt traditionell die Bekanntgabe der Wahlergebnisse für die nächste Berufungsperiode des RatSWD. Im Jahr 2023 wird die 8. Berufungsperiode des RatSWD beginnen. Damit bildet die Konferenz den Startpunkt für die Arbeit des RatSWD in den kommenden Jahren. Sie ist 2023 zugleich Mid-Term Conference des Konsortiums für die Sozial-, Verhaltens-, Bildungs- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften (KonsortSWD).

Nächste Konferenz

 

Bisherige Konferenzen