Go to main content

Members of the German Data Forum (RatSWD) in its 5th appointment period (July 2014 – July 2017)

The German Data Forum (RatSWD) was established by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in accordance with all federal government departments in 2004. It superseded the founding committee of the German Data Forum and continued its activities. The German Data Forum is an independent council of empirical researchers from universities, university-level institutions, and institutions of independent scientific research as well as representatives from important data producers in Germany. It consists of sixteen members. The members for the fifth period of office were appointed in July 2014.

the RatSWD in its 5th appointment period
The RatSWD in its 5th appointment period. Prof. Dr. Thomas K. Bauer, Prof. Dr. Beatrice Rammstedt and Prof. Dr. Frank Michael Spinath are missing.

Representatives of the empirical social, behavioural, and economic sciences

Prof. Dr. Cordula Artelt
Professor of Educational Research at the Otto-Friedrich University Bamberg

Prof. Dr. Thomas K. Bauer
Professor of Economics at the Ruhr University Bochum and Vice President of the RWI Essen (Rheinisch-Westfälisches Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung)

Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans
Scientific Director of the German Centre for Research on Higher Education and Science Studies (DZHW) and Professor for Empirical Research on Higher Education and Science Studies at the Leibniz Universität Hannover

Prof. Dr. Kai Maaz
Professor of Education Systems and Society at Goethe University Frankfurt a.M. and director of the department Educational Structure and Governance at the German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF)

Prof. Dr. Beatrice Rammstedt
Professor of Psychological Assessment, Survey Design and Methodology at the University of Mannheim and head of the division Survey Design and Methodology at GESIS

Prof. Regina T. Riphahn, Ph.D.  Chair
Professor of Statistics and Empirical Economic Research at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg

Prof. Dr. Frank Michael Spinath
Professor of Individual Differences and Psycho-diagnostics at the Saarland University

Prof. Dr. Jörg Strübing
Professor of Sociology at the Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen

Representatives of data production

Stefan Bender, Deutsche Bundesbank – Vice Chair
Head of the Research Data and Service Center of the Deutsche Bundesbank

Prof. Dr. Manfred Ehling, Federal Statistical Office
Head of the division Mathematical and Statistical Methods at the Research Data Center and Professor at the Business School of the University of Applied Sciences Fresenius, Idstein

Hans-Josef Fischer, Statistical Offices of the “Länder”
President of IT.NRW (Landesbetriebe Information und Technik Nordrhein-Westfalen)

Dr. Cornelia Lange, Robert Koch Institute
Department of Epidemiology and Health Monitoring, Head of the division Health Behaviour

Sabine Ohsmann, German Pension Insurance
Department Research and Development at the German Pension Insurance

Prof. Dr. Mark Trappmann, Federal Employment Agency
Head of Research Department “Labour Market and Social Security” (PASS) at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB)

Prof. Dr. Gert G. Wagner, German Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP)
Member of the Executive Board of German Institute for Economic Research (DIW Berlin)

Dr. Heike Wirth, GESIS Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences
Department Monitoring Society and Social Change, German Microdata Lab (GML)

Former members of the 5th appointment period

Dr. Ulf von Kalckreuth, Deutsche Bundesbank
Head of Section in the Statistics Department

David Schiller, Federal Employment Agency
Research Data Center of the Federal Employment Agency (BA) at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB)