Go to main content


All members of the RatSWD from science and data production of the current appointment period.

8th appointment period (July 2023 – July 2026)

The members of the 8th appointment period were appointed by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research as of July 2023. The German Data Forum (RatSWD) was first appointed in summer 2004 by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in agreement with all federal ministries.
At the constituent meeting, the members of the RatSWD confirmed Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans (DZHW and University of Hannover) as chair and Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider (University of Wuppertal) as her deputy.


Representatives of empirical social, behavioural and economic research in the RatSWD

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Faas

Professor of Political Science with a focus on Political Sociology of Germany, Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft, Free University of Berlin

Prof. Dr. Johannes Hartig

Head of Unit and Professor of Educational Measurement, Department of Teaching and Learning Quality in Educational Institutions, DIPF | Leibniz Institute for Research and Information in Education / Johann Wolfgang Goethe University Frankfurt

Prof. Dr. Corinna Kleinert

Professor of Sociology with a focus on longitudinal educational research, Faculty of Social and Economic Sciences, Otto Friedrich University Bamberg
Deputy Director at the Leibniz Institute for Educational Trajectories (LifBi) and Head of the Department "Educational Decisions and Processes, Migration, Returns to Education"

Prof. Dr. Hubert Knoblauch

Professor of General Sociology, Institute of Sociology, Faculty VI - Planning Building Environment, Technical University Berlin

Professor of Educational Psychology, Centre for Empirical Research on Language and Education (ERLE), Institute of Psychology, Leuphana University Lüneburg

Prof. Dr. Ingrid Miethe

Professor of General Educational Science, Institute of Educational Science, Justus Liebig University Gießen

Prof. Dr. Fridtjof Nussbeck

Professor of Methods for Intensive Data in Psychology (midpsy), Department of Psychology, University of Konstanz

- Vice Chair -
Chair of Public Finance and Taxation, Department of Economics, University of Wuppertal
Managing Director of WIB - Wuppertal Research Institute for the Economics of Education

Professor of International Comparative Public Policy, Geschwister-Scholl-Institute for Political Science, Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich

Prof. Dr. Joachim Winter

Professor of Empirical Economics, Faculty of Economics, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

Representatives of data production in the RatSWD

Prof. Stefan Bender

German Bundesbank
Head of the Research Data and Service Centre of the Deutsche Bundesbank

Dr. Christin Czaplicki

German Pension Insurance Association
Research and Development Division of Deutsche Rentenversicherung Bund

Dr. Jan Goebel

Socio-Economic Panel SOEP at DIW Berlin
Head of Data-Operation and Research Data Centre at the SOEP Infrastructure Facility

Prof. Dr. Betina Hollstein

FDZ Qualiservice
Professor of Qualitative Methods and Micro-Sociology, Department of Social Sciences, University of Bremen
Head of the Methods Research Department at the SOCIUM Research Centre Inequality and Social Policy

Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans

- Chair -
German Centre for Higher Education and Science Research (DZHW) – Scientific Director
Professor of Empirical Research on Higher Education and Science, Leibniz University Hannover

Dr. Anke Rigbers

Statistical Offices of the Länder
President of the State Statistical Office Baden-Württemberg

Patrick Schmich

Robert Koch Institute (RKI)
Head of the Department "Epidemiological Data and Survey Centre"

Prof. Dr. Mark Trappmann

Federal Employment Agency
Professor of Sociology, esp. Survey Methodology, Otto Friedrich University Bamberg
Head of the “Labour Market and Social Security” Panel (PASS), Institute for Employment Research (IAB) of the Federal Employment Agency

Dr. Daniel Vorgrimler

Federal Statistical Office
Head of Division B Strategy and Planning, International Relations, Research and Communication

Dr. Heike Wirth

GESIS Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences
Department of Continuous Monitoring of Society, Head of the German Microdata Lab (GML)

Guests of the German Data Forum

Dr. Daniel Fuß
Chair of the FDI Committee
Research Data Centre of the Leibniz Institute for Educational Pathways (FDZ-LIfBi)

Dr. Eckard Kämper
German Research Foundation (DFG), Programme Director Humanities and Social Sciences Group 2: Social and Behavioural Sciences

Tatjana Mika
Chairperson of the FDI Committee
Research Data Centre of the Pension Insurance (FDZ-RV)

Dr. Katharina Pijnenburg
Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), Social Sciences and Humanities Division

Bertram Raum
Expert for data protection law

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Rockmann
Expert for official statistics and administrative data